SMCR and Individual Accountability

The SMCR, or Individual Accountability Regime, was introduced by the UK Parliament as a direct result of the UK regulators being unable to take action against any individual for the 2008 financial crisis. It comprises three regimes:

  1. the Senior Manager Regime

  2. the Certification Regime

  3. the Conduct Rules

We provide SMCR training courses for every stage of your SMCR journey, whether you are completely new to it or need a refresher, through to those taking on certain responsibilities, to those operating or overseeing the supporting processes.


There are training slide packs in our shop covering each of the three regimes with speaker notes. We can provide a train the trainer to help you deliver those courses - remember that the PRA and FCA expects your Senior Manager to deliver or at least play an active role in delivering your SMCR training.

Below are details of the suggested curriculum for our more popular SMCR training courses covering all of the PRA and FCA training requirements.

SMCR Training Courses

Suggested Course Content

Looking for something specific?

Let us know and we can discuss tailoring a course just for you.